Time to call a spade a spade…

“Don’t let comparison steal your joy”.

Such an inspirational little phrase. I read it and I imagine myself fist bumping myself in my head. Yeah Kayla! Don’t compare yourself, choose joy! Easier said than done. My fantastic ability to compare myself to others is award winning. I am so good at it, half the time I don’t even realize I am doing it. I want her skin, her hair, that house they get to have, her work out discipline….the list goes on and on.

What’s even scarier is when those comparisons go even deeper: I wish my husband did things like her husband did, my writing will never own up to the writing on that blog, why don’t I have more friends like she does. Often times I arrive at a place where those comparisons start eating away at my soul and cause me to question the very characteristics that are good and beautiful and make me uniquely Kayla.

The thing I am realizing is, there is another word for comparison that we like to avoid using because in my opinion, it sounds really harsh. That word is greed. At the end of the day, when I choose to not be thankful, I choose to be greedy. When I walk away from indulging in comparisons, it leaves me with a giant nauseating stomach ache.

I am not saying that this is true for everyone. I just know for myself, its time to call a spade a spade. Its time for me to be a little more real with myself, and its time to be a little more content.

Leave a Reply

