1 Peter 2:9

1 Peter 2:9 – But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of the darkness into his wonderful light.

I know that there are many ways in which God speaks to his people, if you are like me, one of those ways is through repetition. I hear a verse once, twice, three, five times in a week or two. Alright God, you have my attention.

For me this summer was NOTHING like I planned. Nothing. I had these great big plans that were supposed to go into play once I got married. I was going to find a job within the first two weeks, have lots of friends over and cook for them, go on adventures with my new husband, be generally happy. Let me preface this all by saying, this summer was JOYfilled. Truly. I am learning and growing so fast I cant even see it sometimes. The generally selfish happiness part? Not so much.

At a prayer meeting a few weeks ago 1 Peter 2:9 was used to remind us of the power and authority we have to pray in Christ’s name. In my devotion the last few days it  has reminded me that I need to praise God for the journey he has me on. Then there was today. Today 1 Peter 2:9 showed up and it punched me in the gut. It screamed: KAYLA, WHAT ARE YOU DOING. Yup. Screamed it.

I was listening to a sermon this morning and the pastor posed the question: what should a Christians greatest fear be? Answer: That we can go through our entire lives and never have God use us for his purposes in expanding the kingdom. How scary is that? We can call ourselves Christians and have God never use us because we are too dang consumed with ourselves to get out of His way. I am a part of a Royal Priesthood, and yet I have been sitting on my but all summer whining about finding a job, comparing myself to all my friends and even more scarily, people I don’t even know. I have this big list of wants and choose to pray about that when I have literally been given the power to change others eternity. I have given into the temptation that life is about living from one happiness fix to the next.

So that is my declaration: I am throwing off the distraction of “me” and jumping back in the game. It starts in my mind, not letting comparison steal my joy, not letting the fact that the dream job didn’t work out keep God from using what he has brought into my life. Letting the dream be that through the process of doing, whatever it may be, God will flesh out my calling, and bring His dreams for me into fruition in his perfect timing.

I am going to start praying this every day: God use me to expand your kingdom. God use me.

I think that it is through this that I will find contentment.

Matthew 5:5 says: You’re blessed when you’re content with just who you are- no more, no less. That’s the moment you find yourselves proud owners of everything that can’t be bout.

 

This is the true joy in life, the being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one; the being a force of nature instead of a feverish, selfish little clod of ailments and grievances complaining that the world will not devote itself to making you happy. 
I am of the opinion that my life belongs to the whole community, and as long as I live it is my privilege to do for it whatever I can.
I want to be thoroughly used up when I die, for the harder I work the more I live. I rejoice in life for its own sake. Life is no “brief candle” for me. It is a sort of splendid torch which I have got hold of for the moment, and I want to make it burn as brightly as possible before handing it on to future generations.

George Bernard Shaw

Leave a Reply

