Current top 3 favorite relationship books:

Sacred Marriage: What if God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy .This book I think is a must read, especially girls, no matter what stage of a relationship you are in. I think that in our culture we idolize marriage (guilty). We spend hours pouring over photos and planning our perfect day when really marriage is not about a wedding, and its not about the security and love you think you will be gaining once you finally get married. Marriage I believe is a sacrament, it is a lot more giving than receiving, it is more about learning more about holiness and who Christ is than it is about our happiness. Yes there are amazing perks to having a life partner and wedding are ridiculously fun to plan, I in no way discount that. I just think we need to spend a little more time thinking about the post “I do” life.

Total Forgiveness: When everything inside of you wants to hold a grudge, point a finger, and remember the pain-God wants you to lay it all aside. A great, super practical book about letting go of hate and bitterness, and learning how to forgive. It emphasizes that forgiveness is an everyday choice often about the same thing. I definitely struggle to let go of bitterness, to let people who have hurt me off the hook in my mind. This book has been a great resource to me in the journey of “I am sorry”.

Love and Respect: The Love She Most Desires, The Respect He Desperately Needs. AMAZING BOOK. AMAZING. This is such an insightful and well balanced book, and I think it can help you in any relationship with a member of the opposite sex. It can help you be a better friend, daughter, wife, sister….I know some of my friends who have read it and do not like it, or haven’t read it but don’t like the idea of it, because it does not water down the fact that we as women need to show unconditional respect just as much as men need to show unconditional love. I know as a women, unconditional respect is the last thing I feel like showing at times, but this book really brings to light the hope and future that comes out of following this cycle. You may not believe me. But read the book. Then try out actually living out what it suggests. This book was a life preserver for Richie and I in some of our hardest struggles thus far, It will absolutely not get dusty on my shelf over the years.

Leave a Reply

