ragamuffin gospel.

The kingdom belongs to people aren’t trying to look good or impress anybody, even themselves. They are not plotting how they can call attention to themselves, worrying about how their actions will be interpreted or wondering if they will get gold stars for their behavior. Twenty centuries later, Jesus speak pointedly to the preening ascetic trapped in the fatal narcissism of spiritual victories, o those of us caught up in basting about our victories in the vineyard, to those of us fretting and flapping about our human weaknesses and character defeats. The child does not have to struggle to get himself in a good position for having a relationship with God; he doesn’t have to craft an ingenious ways of explaining his position to Jesus; he doesn’t have to create a pretty face for himself; he doesn’t have to achieve any state of spiritual feeling or intellectual understanding.      ~Brennan Manning

As I read through Brennan Manning’s words, I cannot help but be awed by his insight and wisdom. The above passage hits the nail on the head. My journey here has not been one of increased spirituality, but rather rediscovering childlike wonder. What a relief it has been to set aside my presuppositions and the pressure to perform, and embrace simplicity and accept that my faith, my life, is one that is unique and I am loved simply as I am! It is with great humility and joy that I desire to share with you all what I have been experiencing in the last week; to portray the simplistic joys that are now my life, as well as retell the small but increasingly more frequent gentle whispers of the Holy Spirit that have guided my steps here.

For now, i must sleep (when one has random strangers approaching them in the mall telling them they look exhausted, one knows its time to go to bed) But! stories are coming, as well as beautiful pictures of beautiful people who are changing my life.

Leave a Reply

